Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Brothers Lazaroff - Hope, Fear, Youth

Photo by Jarred Gastreich

David and Jeff Lazaroff could be a pair of telepathic siblings. But it's more likely that the brothers' compatibility onstage comes from playing music and writing songs together since their high school days. The duo carried on composing as a team for more than a decade while David lived in Austin, TX, all the while the songwriters continued to develop their roots-driven sound. Currently reunited in St. Louis, the fraternal front men are a staple of the local music scene and draw crowds all over town.
Besides a possible secret language, the brothers are equipped with earnest songwriting and an earthy sound peppered with jazz-inspired riffs and fuzzy solos. The remainder of the quintet they've led for more than four years includes Grover Stewart on drums, Teddy Brookins on bass and Mo Egeston on keys. Both in the studio and onstage, the evidence is clear that the group has developed an intuition and familiarity that allows each player to create something unexpected.
Brothers Lazaroff was once just a group of friends living in Austin, TX held loosely together by music. Now, a solid band of brothers led by Jeff and David Lazaroff, the group's new album Hope, Fear, Youth is a combination of new tunes and older songs reinvented with the current members. One of the older songs featured on the album is the lead track "Battle Hymn" which was recently been covered by Doc Feldman & The LD50.  Recorded with Jacob Detering at Red Rill Entertainment studio the Brothers Lazaroff were able to capture the essence and the magic of their live arrangements on the album. 

Smooth, soulful and innovative folkish country R&B funk with plenty of grooves and a rootsy flavor. I think I'll dig up some of my old The Average White Boy albums and keep this groove going.

Hope, Fear, Youth Track List:
1. Battle Hymn
2. Dance While You Can
3. Row Of Trees
4. Time's Quickly Fleeting
5. Tonight
6. Clumsy And Aching
7. All The Things I Need
8. Union Of The Soul
9. No Water In The Well
10. Pure Delight
11. Cluck Ole Hen

Released 30 September 2013
Jeff Lazaroff - acoustic guitar and vocals
David Lazaroff - electric and acoustic guitars, miro-korg (organ), casio pt-10, processed accordion, synths, mini-duece oscillator synth, beat production and vocals
Grover Stewart - drums, tambourine, drum samples and vocals
Teddy Brookins - electric bass and vocals
Mo Egeston - fender rhodes piano
Gary Newcomb - pedal steel, acoustic and electric Guitars, octave 12 string guitar and organ

All Songs By Brothers Lazaroff
Produced by Brothers Lazaroff
Recorded, Engineered and Mixed by Jacob Detering at Red Pill

St. Louis, MO- Brothers Lazaroff 3rd Annual Hanukkah Hullabaloo presented by STL-STyLe
12/04/2013 - 7:00pm

Columbia, MO-Little Dixie House Concerts
12/13/2013 - 8:00pm
Little Dixie House Concerts

Austin, TX- Elizabeth McQueen meet Brothers Lazaroff 'The Laziest Remix' Release Show
01/11/2014 - 9:30pm

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...