Tuesday, September 10, 2013

Debut> Old Time Appalachian Music from Old Buck

A collaboration of four red-hot players, Riley Baugus, Debra Clifford, Sabra Guzmán, and Emily Schaad,  Old Buck combines a love of old time traditions with a fresh new take – plenty of singing, layered arrangements, and influences from punk to vintage Americana to gospel. While the players overlapped in their interests and projects prior to forming Old Buck, the band itself was born as one of those edge-of-your-seat, time-of-your-life jam sessions that take flight and never quite come back down. Now the band has poured all that passion and enthusiasm into their debut self-titled album. With each member an acclaimed artist in their own right, it’s no exaggeration to say that Old Buck is a supergroup of Southern roots musicians.

"'False Hearted Lover's Blues' comes from Dock Boggs, a southwestern Virginia coal miner and banjo player who had a short recording career in the 1920s," Baugus tells The Bluegrass Situation.

Buy CDBaby
Track List:
1. Chilly Winds
2. Tribulations
3. Nancy Ann
4. Highlander's Farewell
5. Free State Hornpipe
6. Rocky Road to Dublin
7. False Hearted Lover's Blues
8. Black Jack Grove
9. Soldier's Farewell
10. Mike in the Wilderness
11. John Sharp's Tune
12. Icy Mountain
13. Willow Garden
14. Fisher's Hornpipe
15. Tippin' Back the Corn
16. You Win Again

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...