Saturday, November 16, 2013

The Green Boys - Oh Delia

Ryan Green (Vocals, Bass, Banjo) - Sean Green (Vocals, Guitar)  - Michael Emmons (Vocals, Dobro, Steel, Banjo)  - Zack Miller (Mandolin) - Jonathan Burkett (Drums) 

The Green Boys are a four-piece band based out of Richmond, Virginia, the gents play a style of country, meets traveling medicine show, meets rural hoe down. I am not really sure how these guys do it, but they somehow manage to bridge the gap between old time revival music and put a modern twist with certain harmony parts and exquisite recording. The GBs bio claims that they are “Equally mislabeled as bluegrass, folk, or honky-tonk…”  The Boys are fronted by the brother team of Sean and Ryan Green, both adding vocal and songwriting capabilities to the band’s sound. This provides an eclectic range to the band’s sound, yet somehow blends effortlessly.

They have shared the stage with artists such as Southern Culture on the Skids, NO BS Brass, Jackass Flats, The Hot Seats, Frontier Ruckus, Spirit Family Reunion and Folk Soul Revival. They have played many prominent regional venues and frequent the Virginia festival circuit including a 2012 first-place finish in the Watermelon Park Bluegrass Festival band contest.

Their first full-length album "Oh Delia" released in May of 2013 is a magnificent blend of country twang, honky tonk and old timey porch music with outstanding strings and harmonies and Ryan Green’s vocals float melodically and effortlessly throughout.

1. It's Easy (To Die Alone)
2. My Love
3. Leaving On A Whim
4. Summer Song
5. St. Mary's Wilderness
6. Hard Luck Blues
7. The Morning
8. Black Mountain Promenade
9. Fine By Me
10. She's Out Of Your League
11. Yes and No
12. I Wanna Be Like You (The Jungle Book Song)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...