Monday, November 11, 2013

Marshall Artz - To Be Continued

Friends since high school, Brad Marshall and Kevin Artz began playing music together while students at James Madison University, now as Marshall Artz they are a powerful guitar duo performing a distinctive original blend of americana and blues forged together in a powerful acoustic style. Brad Marshall on lead, rhythm, and slide guitar and Kevin Artz on rhythm and fingerstyle guitar, vocals and harmonica. Brad’s background in rock and blues meets with Kevin’s background in folk, folk-rock and bluegrass to create an original and dynamic acoustic sound. Their performances blend two guitars into a rhythmic and melodic mix that suggests a full band rather than just two guitars. Their forth release 'To Be Continued' is their statement that they expect to keep playing music together for a long time to come.

From an interview with Kevin Adler Takoma Park Folk Festival:
TPFF: How would you describe your sound?
Artz: We play folk, rock, and blues. We have always wanted our sound to be as full as possible, even though we’re not playing with a drummer or bass. Hence, the Martin guitars we use. Brad does lead guitar and slide, and it combines with me doing rhythm and fingerstyle guitar, plus vocals.
Marshall: I very rarely play the same chords or same rhythm as Kevin. The two of us are playing on different parts of the fret board…and it gives us a deeper sound.
1. Confusion
2. I Don't Believe You
3. Tail Chaser
4. A Minor Incident
5. Angel's Share
6. Sweet Art Of Nothing
7. To Be Continued
8. New Morning Light
9. Peace
10. Poipu Beach
11. Party Never Ends
12. Beer & Whiskey
13. Shadows Against The Wall
14. Seat Of The Pants

Released on August 15th 2013 and available on CDBaby and iTunes

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...