Monday, November 25, 2013

Englishman - “Unsafe & Sound"

 Andrew English & Justin Craig (not shown - Matt Duncan) photo credit: Sarah Law

Englishman's new album, according to the band, “Unsafe & Sound began as a feeling that the ways in which we participate in the human experience are changing too rapidly to process.  It began with a response not unlike a viewer has during the course of a dystopian movie marathon.  The songs on this record are not offered as suggestions or wisdom, but as replacement windows of differing sizes and opacities.  They are newly available lenses of undetermined accuracy.”

The songs were recorded in 2011 in Lexington, KY, in a studio fit up for occasion, then mixed by Justin Craig in Brooklyn, NY.  The members of the band are Andrew English, Justin Craig and Matt Duncan.  The finished recordings reflect an overall urgency for preservation and nerve that the previous self-titled album does not.  During ten days of recording, a fire was kept outside of the recording space and continued to burn for the duration of the recording.  It was tended throughout the day and rekindled each morning with care.  It even rained heavily one night.

Englishman's Unsafe & Sound is the follow-up to their 2010 self-titled full-length studio album, and is now available on Limited Edition Vinyl and Digital formats via their bandcamp page.

1. Fill a Silo  
2. Kids & Bipolars  
3. More Than Insects  
4. Fiercest Warriors  
5. At 25  
6. We're the Monsters  
7. Dear Life

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...