Saturday, July 6, 2013

Listen> The Sufis “Alone” and “No Expression”

Calvin Laporte - Vocals, Drums, Guitar, Bass, Organ, Tambourine
Evan Smith - Vocals, Piano, Harpsichord, Drums
Jon Kemmerer - Woodwinds, Upright Bass/Cello, Saxophones

Sounding like something plucked right from Rhino Records Nuggets series and dropped into the 21st Century, Nashville's dynamic 60's throwback psych duo The Sufis new album "Inventions" will be released  5 August (vinyl is a Burger & Ample Play release, CD & download Ample Play)
Single "No Expression / Alone" out 29 July
Preview "No Expression / Alone" 

Comprised of Calvin Laporte, Evan Smith, and the help of some local pals, the band released their self-titled debut last year, amassing solid press with their tightly controlled echos of the past. Now, the duo seeks to stretch into even more ambitious psychedelic pop with their followup record, Inventions, due August 6th from ample play/Burger Records.

“I wanted to write concise pop songs, each with a unique and particular quality,” Laporte says in a press release. To that end, they recorded on what they refer to as “old school equipment”, including some home-invented effects  

Inventions Tracklist:
01. All of the Time
02. Most Peculiar Happening Cat03. She Said to Me
04. I’ll Come to See You
05. Turn Around
06. The End
07. Alone
08. No Expression
09. Gotta Get Away
10. Wallflower
11. Nothing More to Say
12. Washed Away

'Sri Sai Flora' from their debut album

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...