Tuesday, January 28, 2014

The Harmonica Lewinskies - NEW LP Dad Rock

NYC’s magical minstrels The Harmonica Lewinskies  go big with some bold and brash sounds on their new LP ‘Dad Rock’ A Smörgåsbord of tasty delights, massive horns and rhythm the lads rock the suspenders right off your body and get you shimmy shaking like a Pentecostal choir. Yet another spectacular release from Mama Coco’s Funky Kitchen

“What is "Dad Rock?" If you don't immediately understand the combination of these two words, then break down other genres. What is "Garage Rock" without a garage? What is "60's Rock" without the 60's? It's just "Rock." 

The Harmonica Lewinskies second LP, entitled "Dad Rock," is a 13-song encapsulation of 13 genres spanning from the early 60's to the late 80's. Simply put, the Lewinskies want to show you how maybe, just maybe, without "Dad," there would be no "Rock." "Dad Rock" could be simply defined as "AOR"( Album-Orientated Rock). It's the hand-me-down blues, funk, and rock music that one comes to love on account of the sequence of the album not the radio-saturated "single." The Lewinskies want to preserve the classic sound of our fathers and mothers before us, and their fathers and mothers before them, so on and so forth. 
A potent blend of punk, funk, big band, jazz, americana, and blues, the Harmonica Lewinskies, "Dad Rock" - LP, shows where they've been, where they are, and what they want to be. Listen responsibly.”
1. Put Your Mouth on Me
2. Do You Believe
3. Horizontal Yellow
4. Land of 1,000 Dances
5. Feelin' Boozy
6. Americana
7. MCFK Theme
8. I Surrender
9. Sari Girl
10. The Hunt
11. Sitting on My Hands
12. Horizontal Blue<
13. Jesus Christ is Just Rock and Roll
Released 28 January 2014 ©2014 Mama Coco's Funky Kitchen Records
Recorded, engineered, produced, mixed and mastered by Oliver Ignatius at Mama Coco's Funky Kitchen in Brooklyn, NY.
Additional engineering by The Harmonica Lewinskies

All lyrics and music of "Land of 1000 Dances" (Track #4) are attributed to ©1962 Chris Kenner, but in a way have been modified by: Cannibal and the Headhunters, Wilson Pickett, Roy Orbison, and Patti Smith. We thank all of those prolific writers and artists that have shaped a song that we, the Lewinskies, have recorded and can now call a "traditional" of American Rhythm and Blues, Jazz, and Dance music.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...