Sunday, April 6, 2014

Introducing: NYC's Silverbird - Debut EP, Surface Life, due for a May 27th release

Rising in the New York City music scene is Silverbird. Founded by charismatic frontman and songwriter Tim Barr comes a life story that includes a stint playing with Lizzy Grant AKA Lana Del Rey in the NYC club scene opening for the likes of The Blow and playing sold out shows at venues in the LES, and in the NYC jazz scene studying and playing with Dizzy Gillespie's longtime pianist and protege Mike Longo. Silverbird represents a startlingly raw new talent. With influences as diverse as Wilco, Heartless Bastards, and Sparklehorse, their music fearlessly treads through an emotional landscape that, combined with infectious melodies and swirling, intricate rhythms, provides an absolutely enchanting first listen. Armed only with basement tapes and rough demos, Tim Barr caught the attention of English producer Kristopher Harris (Smoke Fairies, Story Books, Mathew and the Atlas) and a partnership was formed. Out of this partnership comes Silverbird’s new EP, Surface Life, due for a mid 2014 release.

In order to perform live Tim collected the talent of three musicians to support him. Corey Davis on Bass, Dan Whaley on lead guitar and Jacob Schuab on Drums (The upperclassman). They bring their individual talents and collective musical experience together to create a synergy that is explosive and sparkles with vibrancy and dynamic life.

Silverbird recently performed a run of successful shows in Manhattan and Brooklyn, with recent plays at Cameo Gallery and a support slot for Rey Pila at Baby’s All Right. Other recent NYC shows include Pianos and the Decades Records CMJ Showcase with Band in Heaven.

Listen to the sweeping rocker, Hollow Heart from the new EP, Surface Life, due for a May 27th release.

Surface Life Tracklist: 
01. "Hollow Heart
02. "Honey You're"
03. "With The Spirits"
04. "Silverbird"
05. "When We Went To The Country"

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...