Thursday, February 20, 2014

This week from Mama Coco's Funky Kitchen

This week saw two stellar releases from the ever productive, eclectic Mama Coco's Funky Kitchen

"Goodman is not afraid to be your garage prophet. Listening to Isn't It Sad, his 12-song follow up to 2012's loner pop opus What We Want, one can't help but sense that the stakes are higher. The man of a million quips has opened the door of his bedroom, where once he crooned of sleepless evenings and girls with catchy names, and stepped straight into the blinding, emetic daylight of our culture. For all his laments and cringes, though, Goodman never retreats into the plush cave of irony. He wades through the detritus with sharp eyes and a potent scoff, scratching earworms out of his Fender with a rare sense of purpose in such a climate of wayward buzz bands."

 Released 13 February 2014 All Music & Lyrics Composed by Michael Goodman, except for track 12: Music by Michael Goodman, Lyrics by Michael Goodman & Emily Oliveira
Michael Goodman - Vocals, Electric & Acoustic Guitars, Synth, Hammond Organ, Banjo, Vibraphone, Percussion
Oliver Ignatius - Bass, Synth on "This Is Our Youth"
Zac Coe- Drums Produced, Engineered & Mixed by Oliver Ignatius at Mama Coco's Funky Kitchen

"American Hymn," the debut full length by pop-psych-cabaret-soul combo Toot Sweet. Led by powerhouse chanteuse Mary Knapp, the record weaves through chamber folk, classical pop and vintage R&B, drawing additional influence from such disparate strains as disco and Balkan music, coalescing in one big sighing American Hymn." 

All songs and interludes written by Mary Spencer Knapp 2013* Recorded, mixed & mastered by Oliver Ignatius of Mama Coco's Funky Kitchen, Brooklyn, NY 2014 *In A Cold World and Cleaned Up include excerpts from the poetry of Emily Dickinson and T.S. Eliot (see individual tracks for details) Released 18 February 2014 Mary Spencer Knapp - vocals, accordion, piano, organ Benji Marx - upright bass, electric bass, electric guitar, mandolin Jesse Maynard - drums Alex Carter - tenor saxophone (2, 8) Marc Orleans - mandolin (5, 6) Hannah Sloane-Barton - violin (9) Tyler Kaneshiro - trumpet (11)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...